CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY

Q: Where can I find information on how to install my child's car seat?

A: Visit our website at https://www.gahighwaysafety.org/campaigns/child-safety-seat-fitting-locations/ and locate a child safety seat fitting station near you. Contact the fitting station to schedule an appointment. If you have general questions, contact GOHS Planner Cheryl Patterson at 404-463-0156 or cheryl.patterson@gohs.ga.gov.

Q: Does an 8-year-old child have to be in a booster seat if they are under 4'9" tall?

A: Under Georgia law, children must remain in a child safety/booster seat until they reach their 8th birthday or until they are 4'9" in height. However, it is strongly recommended that children remain in a booster seat regardless of age until the seatbelt fits them correctly across the lap/upper thigh and collar bone.

Q: How old does a child have to be before they are no longer required by law to use a booster seat?

A: Under Georgia law, a child must remain in a child safety seeat or booster seat approproate for their height and weight until they reach the age of 8. At age 8, they can be restained in a seatbelt only. However, it is strongly recommended that children remain i na booster seat until the seatbelt fits them correctly accross the lap/upper thigh and collar bone. They must also remain in the back seat until the age of 8 by law. Best practice, however, is for children to remain in the back seat until the age of 13.

Q: Do children have to be in car seats in school vans?

A: School buses are exempt from the seatbelt laws. However, if the bus is not a school bus or multo-functional activities bus, children must be restrained in a child safety seat until the age of 8.

Q: Where can I find legislation that has passed on child seats in vans?

A: The Georgia Code can be found on the Georgia legislature website. The code section for child safety seat use is 40-8-76.

TEEN DRIVING

Q: When can my teenager apply for a license?

A: When a teenager turns 15 years of age, he/she can apply for a learner's permit. For more information on licensing requirements, visit the Department of Driver Services website at www.dds.georgia.gov. for more information on the Teen and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA), visit https://www.gahighwaysafety.org/highway-safety/tadra/.

Q: Where can I find a credible driver's education course for my teenager?

A: Visit https://online.dds.ga.gov/ddsgeorgiagov/locations/certified-driver-training-schools.aspx to locate an approved program near you.

Q: Does my teenager have to complete driver's education in order to get their license.

A: Any Georgia residents who has not completed an approved driver's education course must be at least 17 years of age to be eligible for a Class D license

Q: Can parents sign offon their child's 40 hours of supervised driver training?

A: Yes. Parents or guardians.

INSURANCE

Q: How can I get automobile insurance information related to a crash/accident?

A: Motor vehicle insuance coverage may be accessed for authorized purposes by contacting the Georgia Department of Revenue, 1800 Century Center Blvd NE, Atlanta, GA 30345. 404-417-2201. Limited insurance information may be viewed online at

Motor Vehicle Insurance Coverage May Be Accessed For Authorized Purposes By Contacting: Georgia Department Of Revenue, 1800 Century Center Blvd., N.E., Atlanta, Ga 30345 Or 404.417.2201.

CRASH/ACCIDENT REPORTS

Q: How can I get a copy of my accident report?

A: If the crash was within the past 2 months, you need to call the agency that investigated the crash. Otherwise, a person may receive a copy of a crash report by contacting the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) Crash Reporting Unit, P.O. Box 80477, Conyers, GA 30013. 678-413-8647 or FAX 678-413-8584

DRIVING/MEDICAL CONDITIONS

Q: As a physician, can I report someone who has a medical condition and should not be driving?

A: Physicians may report drivers with medical conditions or older drivers who are not capable of safe driving to the Department of Driver Services. Family members or physicians who are interested in beginning the medical review process can learn more at https://dds.georgia.gov/medical-review-process.

EGOHS PLUS

Q: The eGOHS Plus system is running slow. What should I do?

A: Contact GOHS Administrative Assistant Candace Hamilton at 404-656-6996.

EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS

Q: Where can I get reliable highway safety material to distribute during an event?

A: The GOHS Online Safety Store is unfortunately, currently unavailable while being migrated to a new server. When the site has been restored, you will be able to order free materials online to